Skip to content Skip to footer
Falling for the Marquess: A Regency Historical Romance (The Strongs of Shadowcrest Book 3)

A war hero who returns to a title. A lady making her debut into Polite Society. Two people drawn together, yet others think them better apart . . .

Order Now!
About the Book

A war hero who returns to a title. A lady making her debut into Polite Society. Two people drawn together, yet others think them better apart . . .

Second son August Holt is serving as a captain in the Peninsular Wars when he is gravely injured. August loses an eye and also bears a hideous scar running from his brow to his cheek from a saber wound. He returns home in time to speak to his older brother, the Marquess of Edgethorne, on his deathbed. Peter makes August promise to attend the Season the following spring and find a bride.

Lady Georgina Strong is ready to make her debut in Polite Society with two of her sisters and two cousins. Yet one after another changes her mind, and at the beginning of the Season, Georgie is the only one left to make her come-out. She has witnessed her twin Pippa wed for love, and Georgie decides she will settle for nothing less—even if it takes more than one Season to find true love.

When August and Georgie meet, she is not repelled by his appearance in the least, seeing him for the man he is. The new marquess finds himself attracted to the kindhearted lady, but he views her as a bright star who would be dimmed if they became involved. Instead, he hopes his lofty title and wealth will persuade one of the ton’s wallflowers to agree to marry him. He will insist on separate lives and bury himself in the country, allowing his marchioness to raise their children.

Georgie enjoys her Season and the attention of many suitors, but she constantly thinks of Lord Edgethorne, who stirs feelings within her which she is unfamiliar with. She wants not only a man who will love her—but a man who is her partner—and will help raise their children in a loving home.

Will the marquess settle for a marriage of convenience, or will he realize marriage with Georgina could see love flourish between them?

Each book in The Strongs of Shadowcrest is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Also you can read free in Kindle Unlimited!

The Strongs of Shadowcrest
Book #1: The Duke’s Unexpected Love
Book #2: The Perks of Loving a Viscount
Book #3: Falling for the Marquess
Book #4: The Captain and the Duchess
Book #5: Courtship at Shadowcrest (Regency Duet – includes Tempted by the Earl and The Viscount’s Heart)
Book #6: The Marquess’ Quest for Love
Book #7: The Duke’s Guide to Winning a Lady

Series: The Strongs of Shadowcrest, Book 3
Genre: Regency Romance
Tag: Dragonblade Original
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Alexa Aston

She is the author of The Knights of Honor, a medieval romance series that takes place in 14th century England and centers on the de Montfort family. Each romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.

A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, watching movies, and can’t get enough of Fixer Upper or Game of Thrones. Alexa also writes romantic suspense, western historical, and standalone medieval novels as Lauren Linwood.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."