Skip to content Skip to footer
The Duke’s Hammer (The Duke’s Guard Book 5)

The Duke’s Guard: The men in black who have sworn an oath to protect the Duke of Wyndmere and his family from enemies that would stop at nothing to discredit and destroy him!

Order Now!
About the Book

The Duke’s Guard: The men in black who have sworn an oath to protect the Duke of Wyndmere and his family from enemies that would stop at nothing to discredit and destroy him!

Garahan has no time for love, but his heart has other ideas…

James Garahan, one of the duke’s private guard, has had his head turned many times by a comely face in his thirty years. Not once has a lass touched his heart…until the night he walks into a tavern in the bowels of London and sees a battered angel in need of rescuing.

Melinda Waring is alone and homeless. She struggles to find work, but employers see her pronounced limp, from a childhood injury, as a weakness. With no other choice, she accepts an offer to work in a tavern in exchange for room and board. The conditions are deplorable, and the constant jeers from patrons, intolerable, but she has no choice but to stay.
The next time Garahan sees her, she has bruises on her wrists and cheek. When she is cornered in the back room of the tavern, he whisks her to safety. For the first time in his life, Garahan listens to his heart, and willingly hands it over to the brown-eyed lass with work-worn hands.

Melinda is drawn to the handsome-as-sin Irishman with the broad shoulders and big heart. She tries to ignore the pull of attraction, but cannot resist his dark brown eyes and dimpled smile. Can he see past her imperfections to her heart?

As the lass is healing, Garahan must uncover a new source of vicious slander, and threats of scandal, aimed at the duke’s family. Leaving Melinda in the care of the duke’s London staff is the last thing he wants to do, but Garahan has a vow to keep and a duty to perform. When she is reported missing, Garahan vows to bring her back and never let her go!

Danger stalks in the night, but it will have to elude The Duke’s Hammer before he will let harm come to those he has sworn to protect with his strength, his honor, and his heart.

Read Free in with Kindle Unlimited!

The Duke’s Guard
Book 1 – The Duke’s Sword
Book 2 – The Duke’s Protector
Book 3 – The Duke’s Shield
Book 4 – The Duke’s Dragoon
Book 5 – The Duke’s Hammer
Book 6 – The Duke’s Defender
Book 7 – The Duke’s Saber
Book 8 – The Duke’s Enforcer
Book 9 – The Duke’s Mercenary
Book 10 – The Duke’s Rapier
Book 11 – The Duke’s Man-at-Arms
Book 12 – The Duke’s Lance
Book 13 – The Duke’s Champion
Book 14 – The Duke’s Sharpshooter
Book 15 – The Duke’s Cavalier
Book 16 – The Duke’s Blade

Series: The Duke's Guard, Book 5
Genre: Regency Romance
Tag: Dragonblade Original
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
C H Admirand

Historical & Contemporary Romance “Warm…Charming…Fun…”

C.H. was born in Aiken, South Carolina, but her parents moved back to northern New Jersey where she grew up.

She believes in fate, destiny, and love at first sight. C.H. fell in love at first sight when she was seventeen. She was married for 41 wonderful years until her husband lost his battle with cancer. Soul mates, their hearts will be joined forever. They have three grown children—one son-in-law, two grandsons, two rescue dogs, and two rescue grand-cats.

Her characters rarely follow the synopsis she outlines for them…but C.H. has learned to listen to her characters! Her heroes always have a few of her husband’s best qualities: his honesty, his integrity, his compassion for those in need, and his killer broad shoulders. C.H. writes about the things she loves most: Family, her Irish and English Ancestry, Baking and Gardening.

Take a trip back in time to Regency England for her new series: The Lords of Vice, coming in 2021 from Dragonblade Publishing! Venture back to the Old West with her bestselling Irish Western Series. Fast-forward to the present, stopping at the Circle G Ranch in Pleasure, Texas, before finally landing in Apple Grove, Ohio–Small Town USA–for a slice of Peggy McCormack’s Buttermilk Pie!

This award-winning multi-published author’s books are available in paperback, hardcover, trade paperback, magazine, e-book, large print, and audio book.

C.H. Admirand loves to hear from readers!

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."