Skip to content Skip to footer
The Duke’s Unexpected Love (The Strongs of Shadowcrest Book 1)

A virgin widow running her own company. A man who returns home after years at sea. An oddly-matched couple—who may not be so incompatible after all . . .

Order Now!
About the Book

A virgin widow running her own company. A man who returns home after years at sea. An oddly-matched couple—who may not be so incompatible after all . . .

James Jones recalls little of his past, only remembering being taken as a young boy and growing up on the Seven Seas. Rising from cabin boy to captain of a ship, a chance encounter with a drunken stranger leads James back to his family, where he discovers he is the heir to the dying Duke of Seaton.

Sophie Grant, daughter of a viscount, never made her come-out, thanks to her father’s bad investments, which were paid off by Josiah Grant, owner of one of the leading shipping lines in Great Britain. As part of the arrangement, the shy Sophie is given to Josiah in marriage. Her new, much older husband helps Sophie to gain confidence in herself by teaching her all about how to run his shipping empire.

James, a former captain for one of Grant’s vessels, encounters the now-widowed Sophie and feels a connection with the efficient, intelligent woman. Rebelling against his new role as a leading member of the ton, he spurns Polite Society and its expectation that he wed some titled gentleman’s bird-witted daughter—because James is increasingly drawn to the gossiped-about, independent Sophie Grant.

Will a newly-minted duke be able to win the heart of a woman who spurs the ton and has built a satisfying life for herself?

Each book in The Strongs of Shadowcrest is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Also you can read free in Kindle Unlimited!

The Strongs of Shadowcrest
Book #1: The Duke’s Unexpected Love
Book #2: The Perks of Loving a Viscount
Book #3: Falling for the Marquess
Book #4: The Captain and the Duchess
Book #5: Courtship at Shadowcrest (Regency Duet – includes Tempted by the Earl and The Viscount’s Heart)
Book #6: The Marquess’ Quest for Love
Book #7: The Duke’s Guide to Winning a Lady

Series: The Strongs of Shadowcrest, Book 1
Genre: Regency Romance
Tag: Dragonblade Original
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Alexa Aston

She is the author of The Knights of Honor, a medieval romance series that takes place in 14th century England and centers on the de Montfort family. Each romance focuses on the code of chivalry that bound knights of this era.

A native Texan, Alexa lives with her husband in a Dallas suburb, where she eats her fair share of dark chocolate and plots out stories while she walks every morning. She enjoys reading, watching movies, and can’t get enough of Fixer Upper or Game of Thrones. Alexa also writes romantic suspense, western historical, and standalone medieval novels as Lauren Linwood.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."