Skip to content Skip to footer
About the Book

A dreadful poem inspires a treasure hunt and wicked temptation…

Book 13 is now available in the best-selling series Blackhaven Brides Read for FREE with Kindle unlimited!

When a lame young officer presents widow Eve Cramond with an atrocious love poem penned by her late husband, she knows John is trying to tell her something from beyond the grave – namely, the location of valuable jewels stolen from his mother. With the help of Captain Lawrence, she tries to decipher his meaning and discover the treasure that could save her children from penury and release her from the unwelcome duty of begging financial help from her husband’s cousin, the Earl of Braithwaite.

But, of course, life isn’t so simple. Lawrence proves to be a dangerous distraction in his own right, and for the first time ever, Eve contemplates taking a lover…

Still recovering from a serious war injury, the easy going and reckless Lawrence is in Blackhaven for a reunion with his old friends. He anticipates a great deal of long-missed carousing, though he does not expect to play the highwayman or to fall in love with his late colonel’s lady.

Worse, Bonaparte is back in Paris and the allies are massing to defeat him once and for all. Lawrence refuses to let his injury stand in the way of fighting in this last battle, but there are other obstacles, including prison – and Eve whom he can’t bear to leave.
Blackhaven Brides Series
Book 1 – The Wicked Baron
Book 2 – The Wicked Lady
Book 3 – The Wicked Rebel
Book 4 – The Wicked Husband
Book 5 – The Wicked Marquis
Book 6 – The Wicked Governess
Book 7 – The Wicked Spy
Book 8 – The Wicked Gypsy
Book 9 – The Wicked Wife
Book 10 – Wicked Christmas (Holiday Novella)
Book 11 – The Wicked Waif
Book 12 – The Wicked Heir
Book 13 – The Wicked Captain
Book 14 – The Wicked Sister (Coming Soon)

Series: Blackhaven Brides, Book 13
Genre: Regency Romance
Tag: Dragonblade Original
Order Now
Buy from Amazon Kindle
About the Author
Mary Lancaster

Mary Lancaster lives in Scotland with her husband, three mostly grown-up kids and a small, crazy dog.

Her first literary love was historical fiction, a genre which she relishes mixing up with romance and adventure in her own writing. Her most recent books are light, fun Regency romances written for Dragonblade Publishing: The Imperial Season series set at the Congress of Vienna; and the popular Blackhaven Brides series, which is set in a fashionable English spa town frequented by the great and the bad of Regency society.

Disclosure of Material Connection: Some of the links in the page above are "affiliate links." This means if you click on the link and purchase the item, I will receive an affiliate commission. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."