Skip to content Skip to footer

Author Bio

Susan King is the bestselling, award-winning author of (so far) 28 historical novels and novellas, a hefty nonfiction history, and dozens of magazine and web articles on education and the craft of writing. Her books, including mainstream historicals Lady Macbeth: A Novel and Queen Hereafter: A Novel of Margaret of Scotland, have been published by Penguin, Random House, HarperCollins, Kensington, ePublishingWorks, and Dragonblade. Praised for historical accuracy, lyrical writing, and storytelling quality, she is a USA Today bestselling author with numerous awards, nominations, and career achievement awards as well as starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly, Booklist, and Library Journal. Most of her books are set in Scotland ranging from the 11th to the 19th centuries.

Susan is a former university lecturer in art history, a private school teacher, and a founding member of one of the longest-running author blogs, “Word Wenches” (wordwenches.com). She holds a Bachelor’s in studio art and English literature, a Master’s in art history, and completed most of her Ph.D./ABD in medieval art history. Raised in Upstate New York, she lives in Maryland with her husband and three sons in an ever-growing family.

Sign up for our blog and receive author updates

Author's library

The Falcon Laird: Medieval Historical Romance (Celtic Hearts Book 2)
The Hawk Laird (Celtic Hearts Book 1)
The Swan Laird: Medieval Historical Romance (Celtic Hearts Book 3)
The Scottish Bride: A Medieval Historical Romance (Highland Secrets Book 1)

Related Links